The travel guide for winter

Here you will find great winter experiences for an unforgettable trip in Switzerland.

 

Order the Travel Card directly online or get a Travel Card from one of our partners.

Then register directly with Hotelcard to benefit from all the advantages.

Swiss winter hiking routes

1. Toggenburg

Route

In the lap of the Churfirsten, you can enjoy wonderful views up to the seven peaks and over to the Alpstein.
Suitable Hotelcard Hotel:
Berg & Bett Säntis Lodge / Unterwasser ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

2. Goms – the winter paradise

Route

Where cross-country skiing is at home. Pure relaxation in the winter wonderland of GOMS.
Suitable Hotelcard Hotel:
Hotel Tenne / Gluringen ⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

3. Titlis Trail on Fürenalp

Route

Feel transported back in time and enjoy the tranquillity of nature away from the hustle and bustle - the Titlis Trail on Fürenalp makes this possible.
Suitable Hotelcard Hotel:
Trail Hotel Engelberg / Engelberg ⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

4. Breathtaking winter hike

Route

Strenuous but rewarding winter hike from Zermatt via Findeln to Sunnegga with magnificent views of the Matterhorn and the mountain sun.
Suitable Hotelcard Hotels:
Monte Rosa ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ or Mont Cervin Palace ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ / Zermatt

 

5. Winter philosopher's path

Route

Fresh mountain air, enchanting winter landscapes and Engadine Alpine panorama deluxe as far as the eye can see. For the gourmets, Chez Vrony is the perfect invitation.
Suitable Hotelcard Hotel:
Cresta Palasce / Celerina ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

6. Most beautiful winter hike in Europe

Route

1000 metres above everyday life. The hike leads high above Grindelwald and Wengen from Männlichen to Kleine Scheidegg.
Suitable Hotelcard Hotels:
Hotel Kirchbühl / Grindelwald ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Hotel Eiger Selfness / Grindelwald ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

7. Fantastic winter hiking network

Route

A walk in the snowy landscape of the Saas Valley is a must! Explore our 60km winter hiking network.
Suitable Hotelcard Hotels:
Walliserhof Grand Hotel & Spa ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Hotel Garni Feehof ⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

Winter Wonderland Switzerland

The travel guide for winter

Switzerland - a winter paradise with many facets. Trees covered in white, glistening ice on frozen mountain lakes and the pleasant crunching sound of fresh snow underfoot: Winter hikes have their own special charm and present nature in an enchanting new light.

Switzerland - a winter paradise with numerous facets, fortunately you don't have to travel far for this experience. But you should be prepared. The first good precondition is a free prepaid travel credit card with an integrated hotel card. With it, you can get up to 50% off at over 600 hotels. This way you save on the hotel and not on the hiking equipment. This is especially important in winter, when temperatures can drop below freezing and you should be prepared for all eventualities. We have put together a few tips on what to take with you on a winter hike.

 

6 Packing Tips for Winter Hiking

  1. outfit: two-layer look
    Hot on the ascent, freezing cold during the break in the shade. When hiking in winter, the range of (perceived) temperatures is enormous. Here we recommend an all-in-one outfit. You can take layers off and put them back on, depending on how you feel. It is important that the clothing is breathable. An example of the different layers would be: tight-fitting functional underwear, longsleeve, fleece pullover, hard or soft shell jacket, down jacket. Windproof and waterproof hiking trousers are suitable for the bottom layer. There should be a change of clothes in your rucksack.
  2. Footwear: Sturdy and waterproof
    The right footwear is at least as important in winter as in summer. However, most hiking boots can also be worn in winter, as they are very sturdy and waterproof anyway. To give the foot enough stability, they should be ankle-high and of course suitable for snow. Good gaiters also keep the feet dry.
  3. provisions: energy-rich and tasty
    Exercise in the fresh air stimulates the appetite. When hiking, however, it is also important that the provisions not only taste delicious, but are also full of energy. For longer breaks, you can pack a snack with fresh bread, boiled eggs, sausage and cheese. Nuts, fruit or dried fruit are good for in-between meals. A hot cup of tea in a thermos flask will also do you good and warm you from the inside.
  4. for emergencies: medicine and first aid
    In the mountains, you should be prepared for anything and at least be able to take care of yourself in case something happens. That's why a well-stocked emergency kit is a must: First aid kit, blister plasters, plasters/bandages, handkerchiefs, personal medicines, painkillers, disinfectant, diarrhoea medicine, emergency blanket, sun cream/lip protection.
  5. always have your personal belongings with you
    You usually have these with you anyway, so you should also take them with you on the mountain: Mobile phone, cash, identity card, health insurance card, Alpine Club membership card (if available), photo camera and binoculars if necessary, headlamp.
  6. hiking route: well planned and adapted
    In winter, planning the hiking route is particularly important. With temperatures around freezing and uncertain weather conditions, you should be prepared for all situations. It is better to plan more time and not to choose routes that are too demanding. You should also bear in mind that the days are shorter in winter and it gets dark sooner. So it is essential to be generous with the resources of time and fitness. This way you won't get into an emergency situation unnecessarily and can enjoy the trip to the fullest.

Funfacts

 

Did you know that...

  • ... the Swiss cold record was set 34 years ago.
    On 12 January 1987, a frosty -41.8 °C was measured in La Brévine.
  • ... the Earth's cold pole is in Antarctica.
    At the cold pole of the inhabited world (Siberia) -67.8 °C have already been measured.
  • ... the wind makes the cold worse.
    The so-called wind chill effect occurs when relatively warm air close to the skin is blown away.
  • ... women freeze faster than men.
    The reason for this is that their skin is on average 2.8 °C cooler than that of men. Men also have more muscle mass on average.
  • ... in extreme cold our skin no longer produces fat.
    Winter is no bed of roses for our largest organ. In heated rooms, the dry air draws moisture from the skin. Outside in the cold air the humidity is usually also low, which promotes dehydration.
  • ... the onion principle applies when dressing.
    The onion principle - wearing clothes in several layers on top of each other - makes sense because the warm air is insulated between the layers. The bottom layer should wick away sweat and insulate heat. Cotton is not so good for this, a polyester or merino shirt is better for this purpose.

 

Order Travel card

  • With no annual fee
  • Including Hotelcard
  • Without a credit check

Learn more

Le guide de voyage pour l'hiver

Vous trouverez ici de superbes expériences hivernales pour une excursion inoubliable en Suisse.

Commandez maintenant directement en ligne la carte de voyage ou procurez-vous une carte de voyage auprès de l'un de nos partenaires.

Enregistrez-vous ensuite directement auprès de Hotelcard pour profiter de tous les avantages.

Itinéraires suisses de randonnée hivernale

1. Toggenbourg

Route

Au pied des Churfirsten, on jouit d'une vue magnifique sur les sept sommets et sur l'Alpstein.
Hôtel Hotelcard correspondant :
Berg & Bett Säntis Lodge / Unterwasser ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

2. Goms – the winter paradise

Route

Là où le ski de fond est chez lui. Détente pure dans le pays des merveilles hivernales de GOMS.
Hôtel Hotelcard correspondant :
Hôtel Tenne / Gluringen ⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

3. Titlis Trail on Fürenalp

Route

Se sentir transporté dans le temps et profiter du calme de la nature loin de l'agitation - c'est ce que permet le Titlis Trail à Fürenalp.
Hôtel Hotelcard correspondant :
Trail Hôtel Engelberg / Engelberg ⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

4. Breathtaking winter hike

Route

Randonnée hivernale difficile, mais qui en vaut la peine, de Zermatt à Sunnegga via Findeln, avec une vue magnifique sur le Cervin et le soleil des montagnes.
Hôtels Hotelcard correspondants :
Monte Rosa ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ or Mont Cervin Palace ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ / Zermatt

 

5. Winter philosopher's path

Route

L'air frais des montagnes, des paysages hivernaux enchanteurs et un panorama alpin engadinois deluxe à perte de vue. Pour les gourmands, Chez Vrony est une invitation parfaite.
Hôtel Hotelcard correspondant :
Cresta Palasce / Celerina ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

6. Most beautiful winter hike in Europe

Route

1000 mètres au-dessus du quotidien. La randonnée mène haut au-dessus de Grindelwald et Wengen, du Männlichen à la Petite Scheidegg.
Hôtels Hotelcard correspondants :
Hôtel Kirchbühl / Grindelwald ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Hôtel Eiger Selfness / Grindelwald ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

7. Fantastic winter hiking network

Route

Une promenade dans le paysage enneigé de la vallée de Saas est un must ! Explorez notre réseau de randonnée hivernale de 60 km.
Hôtels Hotelcard correspondants :
Walliserhof Grand Hotel & Spa ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Hôtel Garni Feehof ⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

Winter Wonderland Suisse

Le guide de voyage pour l'hiver

La Suisse - un paradis hivernal aux multiples facettes. Des arbres couverts de blanc, de la glace scintillante sur des lacs de montagne gelés et le bruit agréable de la neige fraîche qui crisse sous les pieds : Les randonnées hivernales ont un charme tout particulier et donnent à la nature une nouvelle image enchanteresse.

La Suisse - un paradis hivernal aux multiples facettes, il n'est heureusement pas nécessaire de voyager loin pour vivre cette expérience. Il faut toutefois se préparer. La carte de crédit gratuite Prepaid Travel avec la carte d'hôtel intégrée est une première condition. Elle permet d'obtenir jusqu'à 50% de réduction dans plus de 600 hôtels. On économise ainsi sur l'hôtel et non sur l'équipement de randonnée. Celui-ci est particulièrement important en hiver, lorsque les températures peuvent descendre en dessous de zéro et qu'il faut être paré à toute éventualité. Nous avons réuni quelques conseils sur ce qu'il faut emporter lors d'une randonnée hivernale.

 

6 conseils de préparation pour la randonnée en hiver

  1. tenue : le look double.
    Chaud à la montée, froid glacial pendant la pause à l'ombre. En randonnée hivernale, la fourchette des températures (ressenties) est énorme. Dans ce cas, il est recommandé d'adopter le Zwiebellook. On peut ainsi enlever et remettre les couches en fonction de ses sensations. L'important ici est que les vêtements soient respirants. Un exemple de différentes couches serait : sous-vêtements fonctionnels moulants, t-shirt long, pull en polaire, veste hard ou softshell, doudoune. En bas, un pantalon de randonnée imperméable au vent et à l'eau convient. Le sac à dos doit contenir quelques vêtements de rechange.
  2. chaussures : robustes et imperméables
    Les bonnes chaussures sont au moins aussi importantes en hiver qu'en été. La plupart des chaussures de randonnée peuvent toutefois être portées en hiver, car elles sont de toute façon très solides et imperméables. Pour offrir suffisamment de stabilité au pied, elles doivent monter jusqu'à la cheville et être bien sûr adaptées à la neige. De bonnes guêtres gardent en outre les pieds au sec.
  3. provisions : riches en énergie et délicieuses
    L'exercice en plein air ouvre l'appétit. Mais en randonnée, il est également important que les provisions ne soient pas seulement délicieuses, mais aussi pleines d'énergie. Pour les grandes pauses, on peut emporter un petit casse-croûte avec du pain frais, des œufs durs, de la charcuterie et du fromage. Pour les en-cas, des noix, des fruits ou des fruits secs sont parfaits. En outre, un thé chaud dans un thermos fait du bien et réchauffe de l'intérieur.
  4. en cas d'urgence : médicaments et premiers secours
    En montagne, il faut être prêt à tout et pouvoir se soigner au moins en cas d'urgence. C'est pourquoi un kit d'urgence bien assorti ne doit pas manquer : Trousse de premiers secours, pansements pour ampoules, sparadraps/bandages, mouchoirs, médicaments personnels, comprimés contre la douleur, désinfectants, produits contre la diarrhée, couverture de survie, crème solaire/protection pour les lèvres.
  5. toujours sur soi : les effets personnels
    On les a de toute façon la plupart du temps avec soi, c'est pourquoi on devrait aussi les emporter en montagne : Téléphone portable, argent liquide, carte d'identité, carte d'assurance maladie, carte de membre du Club alpin (si disponible), éventuellement un appareil photo et des jumelles, une lampe frontale.
  6. itinéraire de randonnée : bien planifié et adapté
    En hiver, la planification de l'itinéraire de randonnée est particulièrement importante. Lorsque les températures avoisinent le point de congélation et que les conditions météorologiques sont incertaines, il faut être préparé à toutes les situations. Mieux vaut prévoir plus de temps et choisir des itinéraires pas trop exigeants. Il ne faut pas non plus oublier qu'en hiver, les journées sont plus courtes et qu'il fait nuit plus rapidement. Il faut donc absolument être généreux avec les ressources que sont le temps et la condition physique. Ainsi, on ne se retrouve pas inutilement dans une situation d'urgence et on peut profiter pleinement de son voyage.

Funfacts sur l'hiver

Saviez-vous que...

  • ... le record suisse de froid remonte à 34 ans déjà.
    Le 12 janvier 1987, une température glaciale de -41,8 °C a été mesurée à La Brévine.

  • ... le pôle du froid de la Terre se trouve dans l'Antarctique.
    Au pôle du froid du monde habité (Sibérie), on a déjà mesuré -67,8 °C.

  • ...le vent aggrave le froid
    Ce que l'on appelle l'effet de refroidissement éolien est dû au fait que l'air relativement chaud, proche de la peau, est emporté par le vent.

  • ... les femmes ont plus vite froid que les hommes.
    Cela s'explique par le fait que leur peau est en moyenne 2,8 °C plus froide que celle des hommes. En outre, les hommes ont en moyenne une masse musculaire plus importante.

  • ... en cas de froid extrême, notre peau ne produit plus de graisse.
    L'hiver n'est pas une partie de plaisir pour notre plus grand organe. Dans les pièces chauffées, l'air sec prive la peau d'humidité. Dehors, dans l'air froid, l'humidité de l'air est généralement faible, ce qui favorise le dessèchement.

  • ... le principe de l'oignon s'applique à l'habillement.
    Le principe de l'oignon - porter les vêtements en plusieurs couches superposées - est judicieux, car l'air chaud est isolé entre les couches. La couche inférieure doit évacuer la transpiration et isoler la chaleur. Le coton n'est pas très adapté à cet effet, un t-shirt en polyester ou en mérinos est plus approprié.

Commander la carte Travel

  • Sans taxe annuelle
  • Hotelcard comprise
  • Sans contrôle de solvabilité

En savoir plus